SaskCanola Announces Election

SaskCanola is pleased to announce today that five nominations have been received to fill four seats at the Commission’s board table; an election will subsequently take place from November 1st to 30th by way of electronic voting.

The five nominees include Charlene Bradley from Stranraer, Katelyn Duncan from Regina, Bernie McClean from Glaslyn, Beverley Shewchuk from Wishart, and Lane Stockbrugger from Englefeld. Click here to view the profiles of the five nominees. All five candidates will also be featured in a SaskCanola radio campaign in November to address why they decided to get involved in the canola industry by letting their name stand for election.

Registered producers* will receive a letter in the mail the week of November 1st that will instruct them how to select their Board choices from the nominated candidates in the online voting platform. There will be an option listed in the voter packages for registered producers who wish to vote by way of paper ballot. The Returning Officer will be Ann Smith of the Agriculture Council of Saskatchewan at Box 21038, Saskatoon SK, S7H 5N9, or fax at 306-975-6850. Voting, either electronically or by paper ballot, must be completed by November 30th at noon CST.

The results of the election will be announced mid-December and at SaskCanola’s Annual General Meeting on January 14, 2019, held in conjunction with the CropSphere conference.

*A registered producer is any producer who has sold canola in either of the previous two crop years and has not requested a levy refund in the past year.

SaskCanola is a producer led organization, established in 1991 and supported by some 23,000 levy-paying Saskatchewan canola producers. SaskCanola’s mandate is to grow producer prosperity through research, advocacy, and market development. 

For more information, media may contact:
Ellen Grueter, Communications Manager