SaskCanola Election Voting Period Now Open

November 1, 2018 – SaskCanola’s election voting period opened today and will close on November 30th at 12:00PM noon CST. On October 30th, every registered* Saskatchewan canola producer was mailed a letter regarding SaskCanola’s electronic election with instructions on how to vote for nominated candidates using a unique identifier code in the online voting platform ( Paper ballot voting packages remain available to registered* producers upon request. 

Five nominations were received to fill four positions on SaskCanola’s Board of Directors. The five nominees include Charlene Bradley from Stranraer, Katelyn Duncan from Regina, Bernie McClean from Glaslyn, Beverley Shewchuk from Wishart, and Lane Stockbrugger from Englefeld. Candidate profiles are available at both and

The candidates were interviewed and will be featured in a radio program airing on stations across Saskatchewan later this week. They were each asked to talk about their farming operation and what value they would add as a SaskCanola director. The program audio will be posted to SaskCanola’s website later in the month.

“I encourage growers to take an active interest by voting for the candidates that they want to see work on behalf of Saskatchewan growers to advance the canola industry over the next four years,” stated Doyle Wiebe, SaskCanola Board Chair.

The results of the election will be announced in December and at SaskCanola’s Annual General Meeting on January 14, 2019.

*A registered producer is any producer who has sold canola in either of the previous two crop years and has not requested a levy refund in the past year.

SaskCanola is a producer led organization, established in 1991 and supported by some 23,000 levy-paying Saskatchewan canola producers. SaskCanola’s mandate is to grow producer prosperity through research, advocacy, and market development. 

For more information, media may contact:
Ellen Grueter, Communications Manager